The Milestone Payment system is the recommended mode of paying freelancers on the site. It offers protection to both employers and freelancers by giving equal control over created payments for awarded projects. Only employers can create and release them, and only freelancers can cancel and return them to their employers.
Every Milestone Payment that is created manually or automatically will have its own invoice. Both the freelancer and the employer can view and download the invoice from the project's page.
Releasing Milestone Payments transfers the funds to the freelancer’s account. By releasing payments, employers acknowledge complete satisfaction with the freelancer's delivered work.
Cancelling Milestone Payments cancels the pending payment, and returns the funds to the employer's Freelancer.com account.